Waving.........no, not what you think!

chewa
chewa Posts: 164
edited June 2015 in Road general
Don't want to raise that old chestnut.

I have a habit of thanking motorists who pass safely (a thumbs up or a raised hand) in acknowledgement. Rarely used, it has to be said, but the last few months I feel like I'm in a parallel universe. The last time my right arm got this much use......no, we'll leave that there.

Summed up today by my usual 20 mile lunchtime run where I was constantly acknowledging drivers holding back to pass when safe, waiting until oncoming cars had passed before moving out, waiting until after a bend..... and allpassing well over the other side.

On the whole ride, only one driver cut me up (overtaking as a massive earthmover coming the other way encroached on our side).

And I've noticed a big improvement over the last 6 months or so. I think driver behaviour is better than any time I can remember in the UK (I've been cycling on the road for over 40 years) and almost reaches French levels of consideration.

Is it that all the MAMILS are driving their cars when I am out (I am a MAMIL too!), or is it just, as I always hoped, more bikes on the road, no matter how badly ridden, make motorists much more aware?

Or is it just a microclimate of consideration near me :)

Anyone else notice it?
plus je vois les hommes, plus j'admire les chiens

Black 531c tourer
FCN 7
While dahn saff Dahon Speed 6 FCN 11!!!
Also 1964 Flying Scot Continental
1995 Cinelli Supercorsa (columbus slx)
BTwin Rockrider 8.1
Unicycle
Couple of others!

Comments

• Ber Nard
    Ber Nard Posts: 827
    I get that feeling occasionally until someone comes along to remind me that, whilst most people are nice, some are proper arseholes.
  • ravey1981
    ravey1981 Posts: 1,111