Experience with Viking bikes?

harry_vn
harry_vn Posts: 4
edited June 2015 in Road buying advice
I am new to cycling and looking for a low-mid price range of road bike. My friend owns a Viking and he is happy with it so I want to buy the same brand. I have 3 options within my budget:

1. Viking Elite http://bikes24-7.com/racing-bikes/598-viking-elite.html

2. Viking Elysee: http://bikes24-7.com/racing-bikes/549-viking-elysee-sti.html

3. Viking Echelon: http://bikes24-7.com/racing-bikes/558-viking-echelon.html

Does anyone have experience with Viking bike and if so which one do you recommend for a newbie like me?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Mad_Malx
    Mad_Malx Posts: 5,161
    You aren't going to get a lot of enthusiasm for these. At the budget end the Decathalon bikes are usually rated best.

The gearing looks very unfriendly for a noob. Unless you are in Norfolk you will probably be pushing up even mild hills. Even the Elsee has much higher gearing (ie harder to turn the pedals) than I would want.

The Elsee is marketed as a women's, and is a very different size to the other two.
  • Tjgoodhew
    Tjgoodhew Posts: 628
    What may seem like a bargain is more like throwing your money down a drain. Trust me as i made this mistake

You will be lucky if anything works out the box, the gearing is awful and within a couple of months the bike is likely to fall apart.

I would suggest spending a bit more and looking at decathlon or halfords for an entry level machine
    Cannondale Caad8
    Canyon Aeroad 8.0

http://www.strava.com/athletes/goodhewt
  • Mad_Malx
    To expand, the cheapest one cites
    '12-23T 8 speed cassette on the rear and a alloy chainset 45/52T'

Top pros will use a similar gearing range to this on non-hilly stages.
    While not wishing to reopen a very extensively debated topic, if you don't know what gearing you need, then it is likely that you need something MUCH easier than Mark Cavendish.