Rockrider 560 vs Trek Marlin 7

bisikletci
bisikletci Posts: 13
edited June 2015 in MTB buying advice
Hallo,

I'm a total beginner looking to get into offroad riding and looking for some advice on a first bike. Currently I'm looking at the BTWIN Rockrider 560 and the Trek Marlin 7. In the UK these are both £500 but where I'm buying the Marlin is a bit cheaper. It also won hardtail of the year in the £500-and-under category in MTB magazine (I think) awards which should swing the choice in its favour... but I do like the look of the Rockrider and from what I read BTWIN have a reputation for very good value bikes with high specs for the price; in its former incarnation as the RR 8.1 it also got very good reviews. At least to start with I'll mainly be riding fairly easy going trails, fire roads and so on. One of my main priorities is comfort, and I find very "twitchy" bikes a bit hard to get on with - though perhaps highly sensitive steering is something you need in MTB riding and that I'll have to get used to? I may also use it a bit to get around town, though I already have a hybrid for that.

Thoughts? Below are the specs of the two bikes. The Marlin is a 29er, while from what I understand the Rockrider is a 26er but will come out in a 27.5 model later this year.

Trek Marlin 7 2015
Frame: Alpha Silver Aluminium w/semi-integrated head tube, rack & mudguard mounts, G2 Geometry on 29ers
Fork: SR Suntour XCT, coil spring, preload, custom G2 Geometry w/51mm offset on 29ers, 100mm travel (13.5" : 80mm travel)
Front Derailleur: Shimano Altus
Rear Derailleur: Shimano Alivio
Number of Gears: 27
Shifters: Shimano Altus M370, 9 speed
Chainset: Shimano M371
Chainrings: 44/32/22T
Bottom Bracket: Sealed Cartridge
Cassette: Shimano HG20 11-34, 9 speed
Pedals: Wellgo nylon platform
Brakeset: Tektro M290 hydraulic disc brakes
Handlebars: Bontrager Low Riser, 31.8mm, 5mm rise
Stem: Bontrager Race Lite, 31.8mm, 7 degree