27.5 or 29 for beginner?

Rookie1986
Rookie1986 Posts: 153
edited June 2015 in MTB buying advice
This has been playing on my mind for some time now and I was hoping for some advice, as a total beginner which of the two wheels sizes would be more helpful/give a better riding experience?? It seems so hard picking a first bike and getting it "right" the sheer volume of information out there on the internet only seems to confuse things more and if I'm totally honest push you in the direction of spending more and more money... Anyway before I totally digress.... If you were just starting out, knowing what you know now, which wheel size you you choose for a beginner and why (thinking Hardtail btw).

I'll leave the can of worms here....

Comments

• rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Don't worry about wheel size. Both have their advantages and disadvantages. Look at the bike as a complete bicycle rather than breaking it down to things like wheel size, suspension, geometry, colour etc, etc
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    I agree with RMSC here, pick the bike, not the wheel size, that said if you try bigger wheeled bikes and really don't like the feel (I don't) then that will affect how you approach it. What sort of riding?
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Rookie1986
    I'm mainly looking to ride local forest cycle trails (Lake District and Wear Valley areas). So I'm a little unsure what "type" of riding this would be called...
  • The Rookie
    Our continental friends call it trecking, basically touring style riding but on off road gravel trails, nothing too technical, on that basis a 29ers easier rolling gait would probably be better, a Voodoo Bizango would be a good option.