Upgrading!

royalcbr
royalcbr Posts: 15
edited June 2015 in Road buying advice
I've been cycling now for a few months seriously and kind of feel that perhaps some upgrades might be in order for my trusty machine.

As I didn't have a massive budget to begin with I decided to go for a Boardman CX Comp - as I felt with it being a cyclocross bike it would give me some flexibility when it comes to types of routes.

I've upgraded the tyres to something more suitable for the road, a saddle and also have SPDs now, but I was thinking what would be a good next step upgrade?

The current spec is as follows:
Shifters: Shimano Sora
Front mech: Shimano Sora 2 speed
Rear mech: Shimano Sore 9 speed (double cage)
Chainset: FSA Velo Compact 50/34t
Cassette: Shimano HG50 11-32t
Chain: KMC Z99
Bottom bracket: FSA square taper 68mm shell

Any suggestions would be welcomed :)

Comments

• iPete
    iPete Posts: 6,076
    If the bike fits, is comfortable and has the right gearing, you've already done some of the contact points so there isn't really anything left to 'upgrade'.

Spend the money on some comfier clothing, a GPS or other. It depends what you want to achieve really.
  • Spudboy
    Spudboy Posts: 101
    I agree, nothing wrong with the bike. I'd look at clothing- good quality shorts make the world of difference if you haven't already invested for example. Maybe quality eyewear? Treat yourself to a the likes of Assos or Rapha or something of similar quality.
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    Tyres "suitable for the road" includes a lot of tyres that I wouldn't want on a bike. Have you got some decent rubber, like Conti GP4000sII or Schwalbe One?