headset tightness question

old_T
old_T Posts: 3
edited June 2015 in MTB beginners
I'm a beginner and I've been reading much into the headset/handlebars and how to adjust. I have adjusted mine accordingly, i.e. tight, but not too tight on the stem bolt, making sure to loosen the clamp bolts first. However, after I have tightened the stem bolt and then tightened the clamp bolts back up, I can still straddle the front wheel and rotate the handlebars with a bit of force. Is this still supposed to happen once I have it tightened or should the handlebars not rotate independently of the wheel/fork no matter hard you try? It's a star nut anchor by the way. Also, this seems to happen no matter how tight I adjust i.e. I've tightened to where the handlebars no longer swing freely, which what from I've read is definitely too tight, yet even then I could still straddle the front wheel and rotate the handlebars as I said before. Is that normal? Thanks for some insight on this.

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    It's the clamp bolts on the stem round the steerer that stop the bars moving relative to the forks, not the top bolt, that just preloads the bearings and once the stem clamp bolts are done up can be undone and removed completely with no I'll effect, have a look at it and it's obvious how it works.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • old_T
    old_T Posts: 3
    It's the clamp bolts on the stem round the steerer that stop the bars moving relative to the forks, not the top bolt