Real derailleur cable tension problem - help!

jasondainter84
jasondainter84 Posts: 12
edited June 2015 in Workshop
Hi Folks.

I bought a Cannondale Synapse Sora (2015) recently (this exact spec http://www.evanscycles.com/products/cannondale/synapse-alloy-sora-2015-road-bike-ec071023) but it arrived in bit of a mess regarding the gears.

I'm new to road bikes, and figured since this is my first 'good' bike I wanted to try fix this myself instead of handing it into the store (you have to start somewhere right!?)

So I did endless googling on how to synch up the gears again, setting low and high points and generally lining them all up.

I got as far as starting with the rear derailleur, I took off the tension wire (lots of tutorial videos said to do that first so you dont have the tension of the wire confusing things) then I set to setting the low and high points by putting the gear on the smallest cog and then similarly pushing with thumb to set the other point. Seemed to work well, so my next step was to put the wire back on.. then.. EEEK.

So basically I dont know what Ive done but when I pull the wire tight, and screw it back on pressing the shifters has no effect. The shifters dont 'click' any more, and it feels like there is no tension there. I've pulled as hard as I can when tightening this back on but no joy.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong here?

Comments

• trailflow
    trailflow Posts: 1,311
    It sounds like your not clicking the shifter into the last gear before clamping.

The wire is called a cable.

Unclamp the cable from the rear derailleur.

Check the cable outers are seated in the frame stops (the cable entry and exit points).

From here,hold the end of the cable with your left hand and apply a bit of tension. With your right hand, click through the gears on the right shifter both up and down. You should feel the cable pull and release. To see if everything is working OK.