Building a road bike - Books to assist

Chris1178
Chris1178 Posts: 21
edited June 2015 in Workshop
Hi all

I'm new to this forum and wanted some advice on a book that would help me to build up my road bike. Been cycling for about 20 yrs now and just had my old frame resprayed.

Want to attempt to build it up myself (I have some experience but not loads!).

Seen a book (Zinn & Art of Road bike maint) and wondered if anyone has any views on whether this is good to help me or not?? Or any others??

:D
Thanks
Chris

Comments

• slowbike
    slowbike Posts: 8,498
    What are you expecting the book to tell you?

If you've been cycling for about 20 years you should've picked up a fair bit of fettling knowledge ... more than mine I expect!
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    why waste money on outof date paper?

Parktools covers everything you could need to know and then use the makers sites for any part specific info.

you then have the latest and greatest to hard rather than waiting for some paper that does not cover anything new?

Ok Zinn might be good if you are a retro person but so does Sheldons pages.

links below.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    Have built up 4 framesets over the past couple of years ranging from vintage carbon (Trek 5200) to my current Genesis Equilibrium steel disc bike.

Like you I had been cycling for many years and had a bit of fettling knowledge.

However I opted to tackle the first build by using YouTube videos and also consulting on this forum if there was an issue that YouTube did not address directly. The Park Tools website is also an excellent source of tech advice

http://www.parktool.com/videos?blog=repair-help

and

http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-hel ... aintenance