Cervelo S3 owners

davidb67
davidb67 Posts: 39
edited June 2015 in Road buying advice
I've been cycling for just 2 1/2 years now, initially buying my excellent Trek Madone 4.9 Di2 to train-for and then complete a London to Paris event to raise money for charity. I did it all over again in 2014 as my son (21) wanted to do it, and I'm having a third go this year, although self-indulgent this one as we're doing the July event to watch the final stage of TdF.

I'm smitten with the stunning looks of the Cervelo S3 (come-on, show me someone who HASN'T bought a bike based on looks alone!) and I'm at a point in life where I could treat myself to this. It's way more bike than I'd ever get the best out of, and of course a sensible option would be to upgrade the wheels on my Madone but life's too short and I keep thinking of the S3, why-not: a few more years and I'll have reached my half-century (years not miles!!).

Funnily-enough my son and I were out on Saturday for a bit of a ride and pulled into a cafe, and there were about 4 Cervelo's - couple of R3's, an R2 and a Soloist. Unfortunately that group were just heading-out, so no real chance to detain the Cervelo owners for a chat. I did however notice a set of older Fulcrum Racing wheels on one of the bikes that had flat bladed spokes that were a good 6-7mm wide!! I thought the spokes on my son's Boardman Carbon Pro Mavic Askium standard wheels, at about 2.5-3mm looked wide!!

The type of riding I do is undulating hills of Northumberland for pleasure (& training for sportive's and event's like L2P), so research tells me that the R3 is the slightly more comfortable frame etc, but then I bought my Madone over the Domane - my last "racing" bike was a steel-framed Raleigh Record 33 years ago so even the racier harder frame of the Madone felt comfy compared with my previous point of reference!