First Audax - Anglesey Lanes

kelliano
kelliano Posts: 72
Looking forward to my first Audax, a week on Sunday, 7th June, anyone else entered for this ride?

104km, have completed a couple 60km+ rides, as well as many 40km, so hopefully put enough training in this spring, but it's relatively flat route. I have a feeling I'll be hooked after this ride.

Comments

• RallyBiker
    RallyBiker Posts: 378
    I'll be doing the Anglesey Wonderings 52Km, nursing a total beginner from work around on her first organised ride! I'm getting ready for the moaning at 20+miles ! :wink:
  • kelliano
    Weather looks as though it'll be fine come Sunday, so that's one plus!

Sunday, 07/06/2015
    00:00–06:00 Clear sky 11° 0 mm Gentle breeze, 6 m/s from west-southwest Gentle breeze, 6 m/s from west-southwest
    06:00–12:00 Partly cloudy 9° 0 – 0.2 mm Light breeze, 3 m/s from west Light breeze, 3 m/s from west
    12:00–18:00 Clear sky 16° 0 mm Gentle breeze, 6 m/s from west-northwest Gentle breeze, 6 m/s from west-northwest
    19:00–01:00 Clear sky 16° 0 mm Gentle breeze, 6 m/s from northwest Gentle breeze, 6 m/s from northwest
  • RallyBiker
    RallyBiker Posts: 378
    Remember the suncream and choc cake money!!
  • dilatory
    dilatory Posts: 565
    As someone who lives on Anglesey enjoy it! While there's no one big climb, it's rarely flat, I'd call it rolling :D

You'll have perfect weather for it.
  • kelliano
    Loved it. Bloody loved it.

Saturday was blowing a gale, but thankfully Sunday was very pleasant, great conditions for a great event.

Lucky enough to find myself within a small group early doors, two of which were using the Audax as a training ride, and from the Cart Café was riding with Holyhead CC. Made me feel welcome, always checking if I was ok if I found myself at the back of the group, and enhanced the experience greatly. Can't thank them enough even though I didn't take any names. Apologies.

Route very much rolling hills dilatory :)