hi, I'm new to MTB, stop me wasting money...

dixonj4
dixonj4 Posts: 3
edited May 2015 in MTB beginners
hi all, I'm new to this MTB lark - I recently bought a 2nd hand Voodoo Hoodoo simply to use round the local park/trails in an attempt to keep fit. However I've discovered I actually really enjoy it - and have begun to explore a little bit more difficult terrain in and around woodland near me. The other evening I got chatting to a fella who wasn't short of a bob or two, out on his bike. He had all the gear - head to toe, plus a self-built bike that he'd spent £3k on. It had all the gadgets, and I was drooling. Now, do I NEED a dropper seat post? Do I NEED some lightweight agressive style pedals? Do I NEED tubeless tyres and lightweight rims? Do I NEED a single front sprocket that has thick & thin teeth to match my chain? Or would I end up spending money and regret it/get in trouble with the Mrs? As I said at the beginning, I'm mainly trails and woodland at the moment - 43yrs old so can't forsee any 50k difficult terrain rides in the near future, so should I leave the bike as it is? I like to think I'd eventually advance a little, to more demanding rides, but nothing killer. I like the idea of the dropper seat post (what should I be looking for?). What's the crack with the single front sprocket? thanks for preventing a newbie from wasting some pennies :D

Comments

• neilvx
    neilvx Posts: 137
    I wouldnt go to mad to start with, none of the above is needed in my eyes when starting out. I would see how you go and tweak the bike to your liking over time.

I will add I am not expert and only done some light trials at present on my Cube Attention 27.5, the only thing that bugs me on mine at present is the pedals.
    Cube Reaction GTC Pro 27.5 2017 Grey / Yellow Flash
    Ribble R872 Ultegra
    Skyway BMX
  • lpretro1
    lpretro1 Posts: 237