Clicking/ticking rear wheel

kingofthetailwind
kingofthetailwind Posts: 575
edited July 2015 in Workshop
I've had a problem with one of my rear wheels for a few weeks. It's an Archetype on an Ambrosia Zenith hub, 28h. I've swapped the wheel between bikes and noise is the same, so it's definitely the wheel. It's there in/out of the saddle, in both chainrings and all sprockets.

It started as a clicking/ticking noise, then last weekend it was joined by a fairly loud creaking noise. I lubed the nipples and where the spokes cross and the creaking has stopped but the ticking is still there. The tick is mainly under heavy effort/climbing but you can hear it on the flat sometimes too. It's not regular, ie not once per pedal or wheel revolution. The wheel is running true and I can't feel any loose spokes. Although, as you can probably guess, I'm no expert.

So is it likely spoke tension? Or the hub?

Comments

• ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,272
    Hub bearings, most likely
    left the forum March 2023
  • dee4life2005
    dee4life2005 Posts: 773
    Had this with my Fulcrum Racing 3's just last week. Turned out it mainly related to the bearings for the freehub being completed shot, and the was therefore a bit of movement with the freehub. Under load, this movement was creating a creak. On opening up and checking the water that gotten in and destroyed the freehub bearings had also managed to start on the hub bearings too.

Needed a full strip down, clean, regrease and I had to replace the cartridge bearings in the freehub (using a socket and vice / and headset press). Worked a treat. Rear wheel is now quiet, but now my headset has started making noises ... ah, the joys of bike maintenance.
  • OK, thanks.
  • Hub bearings replaced, noise is still there! I hate bikes. :shock: