Cannondale Synapse Claris 2015 vs Sora/Tiagra?

jasondainter84
jasondainter84 Posts: 12
edited June 2015 in Road buying advice
Hello All.

I'm a beginner rider, looking to buy my first road bike. I'm ideally looking for something fast, but since i'll be riding mostly on roads/in towns and not really racing, it needs be be practical also. Ive read the Synapse range is perfect for this.

I'm looking at buying http://www.evanscycles.com/products/can ... e-ec071024 today (The Synape Allow Claris 2015). It comes to 600 GBP, which seems like a bargain and Evans do delivery to Sweden also (where I live).

I'm trying to figure out if its worth paying a bit extra and getting either the:

1) Sora (700 GBP)
2) Tiagra Disc, comes with disc brakes (850 GBP).

Does anyone have any tips on the differences, whether its worth paying extra for the upgrades, and if so why? Are the brakes good enough on the Claris model without disc brakes?

Thanks ahead!

Comments

• arlowood
    arlowood Posts: 2,561
    Certainly worth the extra £100 to get the 9-speed Sora over the 8-speed Claris.

You will also avoid the dreaded thumb shifters on the Claris and benefit from the dual lever STI's on the Sora. This design is standard as you move up the range to Tiagra, 105, Ultegra etc so should stand you in good stead if you upgrade in the future.

Not sure if the extra £250 is justified to move to the Synapse Alloy Disc although you do get 10-speed Tiagra which by all accounts performs pretty well. Not heard of the Promax Render Disc brakes before so that is a but of an unknown quantity.
  • Thanks arlowood thats amazing advice. I'd actually totally forgotton you one speed on the claris. Agree its worth paying 100 pounds more here for that plus the duel lever STI's.

Plus, not that it should matter at all.. but the sora does look pretty damn nice also! http://www.evanscycles.com/products/can ... e-ec071023
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380