Wheels

Kieren McDonald
Kieren McDonald Posts: 5
edited May 2015 in Road buying advice
Hi all,

Only just joined - I'm pretty new to the game - I have a Cannondale Synapse 105 disc. Strangely it doesn't roll anywhere near as well as a couple of others on their bikes (understand weight etc would play a part) when just free wheeling down hills, yet there is no rubbing and it's all rolling true and tight.

I'm looking at changing the wheels and have been recommended by few to go for these: Mavic Ksyrium Pro Disc wheelset.

I have seen great reviews, although I have also seen reviews where people slate Mavic and the price so was then unsure.

Please help me choose the right thing for the right price :-)

Thanks,
Kieren

Comments

• ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,310
    The price point of the Ksyrium disc is simply laughable... they cost 2-3 times as much as a decent disc upgrade and on paper are not better than the competition.
    left the forum March 2023
  • cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865
    What do you mean it does not roll as well. If the tyres are different that could be reason. Not trying to be facetious but
    all hubs comsumes very little power and not enough to make any difference to how fast you go (less than 1W at 25mph) and all wheels are round they all roll as well. What makes a difference to how the bike feels is weight if the difference is big and lateral stiffness of the wheel and what tyres are mounted. Rim width helps for ride comfort and lateral grip but the only thing that makes a real difference to how fast yoj can ride is how aerodynamic the wheel is and that is a small gain. The krysium disc wheels are very expensive and for under 1/2 the price you can buy something that weighs nearly the same and performs the same.
    http://www.thecycleclinic.co.uk -wheel building and other stuff.