Tightening chain help please!

donnamuffins
donnamuffins Posts: 3
edited April 2015 in Workshop
Hello,

I am a bit of a newbie trying to do some basic maintenance on my bike.
I am having an issue that I cannot seem to solve and I hope someone will be able to help!

I have a single speed Charge Plug 1 2015 bike, I have been riding with it for a few months and I have noticed the chain is getting a bit loose.
At this point I should tell you that my rear wheel is on a threaded axle with locknuts on the inside (hub side) and bolts on the outside of the dropouts.
No problem, I loosen the two outside bolts, pull the wheel back in the dropouts a little bit and tighten the bolts again. I realised shortly after that the wheel was not aligned anymore and was almost touching the frame. So I tried to do it again but every time I pull the wheel out to get the chain nice and tight (not too tight) the wheel goes towards the right (assuming the bike is upside down).
I obviously understand that as I am pulling the chain on the left side of the wheel (still assuming the bike is upside down) the wheel will be pushed to the other side but is there a way to get it nice and strait?
How is this normally done? Surely there is something I am missing! :oops:
I tried fiddling with the locknuts and bolts but with no luck.

I hope this makes sense!

Thank you

Donna

Comments

• ravey1981
    ravey1981 Posts: 1,111
    Loosen bolts, pull wheel back in dropouts so chain is tensioned (doesn't need to be ridiculously tight so don't over do it). Tighten drive side bolt/nut. Straighten wheel in frame. Tighten non drive side bolt/nut.
  • Thank you Ravey for your reply!
    I'll give that a go. Do I need to touch the lock nuts that are inside the dropouts at all?
    Thanks
  • trailflow
    trailflow Posts: 1,311
    You could try some chain tensioners on each side.

Google 'BMX chain tensioner' or 'chain tug tensioner'