Guide training or not

rob39
rob39 Posts: 479
edited April 2015 in MTB general
Hi all, kind of testing the water here. I've been riding my local area for 20 years now. I'm just getting a holiday cottage ready for renting and wonder if I would need some formal training to do some guiding despite 20 years experience in the area???

Comments

• Thewaylander
    Thewaylander Posts: 8,594
    Yes.
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    You would need to be qualified as a ride leader. I think there is a CTC qualification.
    For the qualification to be valid you also need a first aid qualification.
    It will cost you around £500
  • Angus Young
    Angus Young Posts: 3,063
    Really? You need a qualification to show people around?
    All the gear, no idea and loving the smell of jealousy in the morning.
    Kona Process 134 viewtopic.php?f=10017&t=12994607
  • rockmonkeysc
    If you are charging for it or offer it as part of a holiday etc then yes. Even to lead a group ride as part of a club.
    The way around it is to advertise that there is great mountain biking in the area and when they ask about it just tell them that you will be riding and they are welcome to join you. Make it a sociable thing rather than a guiding service.
    Also don't forget you will end up with some right goons with zero riding ability and a sh1tty old bike which is falling to pieces.
  • Angus Young
    Is there a law? Sounds like one of those things that people think but isn't actually true. If I want to walk people around my village, I doubt there's a law preventing me from doing so for a fee. Can't see how that would change if we were on bikes.
  • rockmonkeysc
    Not law but if you were to guide someone who had an accident and they decided to sue you then without the qualifications you be screwed. You also won't be able to get any liability insurance which makes you doubly screwed.