best first hardtail bike to buy

Doncaster7
Doncaster7 Posts: 9
edited April 2015 in MTB buying advice
hi im new to biking but im looking at getting a hardtail on the ride to work scheme just wondering if you guys could reccomend some good bikes or what to look out for. been told the best thing is to look for the lightest bike?
budget- £500-£1000 from Halfords or Evans cycles
use- mainly use on country trails and general road use not planning on doing anything extreme,downhill,jumping etc. :lol:
prefer the 26 and 27.5 wheels to the 29ers but still open minded.
any help would be appreciated! sorry if i have been a bit vague, like i say im new to biking.
cheers

Comments

• Antm81
    Antm81 Posts: 1,406
    Light is good, best fork for your money is better.

For around £500, the Carrera Kraken would be good from halfords, or there is the Boardman range too. If you change your mind about a 29er, there is the Voodoo Bizango, gets very good reviews.

I'm guessing you your username you are in Doncaster, I've found the Halfords there reasonable usually, might be worth seeing if they'll let you at least throw your leg over a few but I doubt they'll let you ride them.
  • kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    Also think about budgeting for the kit you will need like helmet, gloves, waterproof etc.
  • Thanks for the replys,
    Without wanting too sound stupid how do i know what is the best fork?
    Was looking at bikes around £800 but do you think theres much difference from the kraken which sounds quite good. Was put off the 29er because im only short and was told they wouldnt suit.
    Yes i plan on going to doncaster halfords tomorrow to have a shop around and then to decathlon for some kit
  • NeXXus
    NeXXus Posts: 854
    Doncaster7 wrote:
    Thanks for the replys,
    Without wanting too sound stupid how do i know what is the best fork?