Where do i sent video of an idiot pulling out on me?

macleod113
macleod113 Posts: 560
edited April 2015 in Commuting chat
I was commuting to work yesterday and a fool pulled out on me causing me to slam the anchors on doing 35mph down a hill (limit is 40 btw). thankfully i didn't hit him but it was close.

i'm just wondering what the process is to report him. i have editied the video to a manageable size and i was just wondering do i just mail it to the local police with a cover note or is there a better way to maybe get the driver to understand the danger in what he did?

not trying to say i am a perfect cyclist or driver but what he did was silly and dangerous.

thanks for your advice.
Cube Cross 2016
Willier GTR 2014

Comments

• Kieran_Burns
    Kieran_Burns Posts: 9,757
    Go to your local station and grab a report of bad driving form. Fill it in and state you have an independent witness. When you give it back in, include a copy of the film on CD / DVD. You actually need to send an unedited copy of the whole video file for it to be admissable.
    Chunky Cyclists need your love too! :-)
    2009 Specialized Tricross Sport
    2011 Trek Madone 4.5
    2012 Felt F65X
    Proud CX Pervert and quiet roadie. 12 mile commuter
  • tangled_metal
    tangled_metal Posts: 4,021
    Just hope it doesn't show you breaking any rules!! I heard that if it does the police tend to drop the matter or worse.
  • macleod113
    Thanks Kieran. not easy when they keep closing the local stations. Might have to go to Ripley/Ilkeston.

Nope not doing anything naughty. no RLJ'ing or pinching any old dears purses
    Cube Cross 2016
    Willier GTR 2014
  • zanelad
    zanelad Posts: 269
    Or you coukd just put it down to experience. No one got hurt. Do you want someone reporting you every time you do something wrong?

Never made a mistake?
  • You've been framed?
  • mrdsgs
    mrdsgs Posts: 337
    An English teacher?
    Colnago Addict!
  • vermin
    vermin Posts: 1,739