Help with Tiagra Downshifts...

drewesq
drewesq Posts: 137
edited April 2015 in Road beginners
Hi all

I'm pretty new to all of this <12 months, so please forgive any mistakes!

I bought a Caad X last year, for me it has been great, it is comfortable and it has let me really enjoy my cycling. However, I have had an annoying issue since I got the bike last year that I can't seem to get right and wondered if it was something I could get advice from here about...

When downshifting on the rear, I don't always get the gear, if I do 1 click it sometimes gives me the gear and sometimes I have to do another half click for it to find the gear. It has only really become more of an issue recently as mu riding has improved and I'm doing longer distances and it sucks becauses it forces me to lose a lot of speed and momentum when I need it to say climb a hill.

I don't have this issue on my MTB, so I don't think it is my technique at fault, also when the bike was set up it was done professionally and I have even taken it back to the pros for this and all I can say is when it is on a stand the gears work perfectly.... they just don't when I am riding :(

Does anyone else have this issue, or better yet, has anyone else managed to fix this issue?

Really hope I can get some help with this

Andrew
Cannondale CAADX Disc 2014 Tiagra - Blue
Charge Plug 0
Voodoo Bizango 2015
Ridgeback World Tour (mainly for commuting and holidays)
:mrgreen:

Comments

• KINGGARY
    KINGGARY Posts: 89
    Sounds like you simply need to wind out the barrel adjuster on the rear mech, your cables may have stretched slightly or your chain line may be different under load than on a stand.
    Plenty of videos online or park tools website has some good tutorials.
    I have tiagra on my winter bike and it does seem to need regular tweaking as opposed to ultegra or 105.