Flat Bar Commuter

RobSomerset
RobSomerset Posts: 27
edited April 2015 in Road buying advice
Hi, forum newbie here. Just sold my old tank (CB Explorer 500) which I started using to commute to work last year (6 miles each way). Anyway have decided to get a bike that's a little lighter. Didn't want to go the full road bike way as will want to use it to nip into town for shopping and cycling on the path network with my partner. So as it I will be using it primarily for commuting decided to go road bike rather than hybrid.

Would like to know people opinions on the following 4 bikes I have narrowed my choice down to. Budget is £600. Choice as follows:

1. Giant Rapid 3 - 2015
2. Felt VF95 - 2015
3. Cube SL Road Pro - 2015
4. Scott Speedster 50 - 2015

Am leaning towards the Scott as although cheapest is a sub 10kg with quite nice spec. Heard their quality is good. Obviously the proof is in the pudding and sitting on it will be best bet but Tredz or Evans the two closest places that do these may not have them in shop.

Any other advice would be great. I won't be going down the clipless route by the way so any advice on toeclip pedals would be good.

Thanks and apologies if covered elsewhere.

Comments

• iron-clover
    iron-clover Posts: 737
    Welcome!

I must admit they are all much of a muchness really- go for the one you like the look of and fits best when you come to try it. Also make sure you've got clearance for wider tyres for when you want to do bridleway work. You won't get a 'bad' bike from any of those brands tbh, although felt and cube are known for offering good value with respect to components- but any of them are cheap enough to upgrade over time as bits wear out anyway.