Co2 inflators

funkyg
funkyg Posts: 68
edited April 2015 in Road beginners
I've had one of these in my saddle bag for about 12 months and never had to use it until this afternoon.
Even now I'm amazed by how quickly and easily it inflates the tyre to full pressure. (About a second)
From one relative newbie here to any others that cares to listen, get a Co2 inflator they're awesome!
GT Avalanche 3.0 Hydro
Ridley R6 EL

Comments

• Man Of Lard
    Man Of Lard Posts: 903
    But now you're home, deflate your tyre and reinflate conventionally.
  • Just bought one today. How do you know the Preassure in your tyre once inflated?
    Specialized Roubiax elite
    Pinarello Uno
    Shwin MTB

http://www.strava.com/athletes/hughes_terry
  • Why deflate and then re-inflate?
  • crikey
    crikey Posts: 362
    CO2 is heavier than air, so you'll go slower if you leave it in. :wink:
  • Just bought one today. How do you know the Preassure in your tyre once inflated?
    You don't unless you carry a gauge and check afterwards. Generally a single cartridge will inflate a tube to 90-110psi depending on what size road tyre you run.

Why deflate and then re-inflate?
    Because the CO2 leaks out of the inner tube much faster than normal air, so next time you go to ride your bike you will find you've lost most of the pressure. As much as half overnight. It's best to totally deflate and re-inflate with a track pump once you get home.
  • crankycrank
    crankycrank Posts: 1,830