Better Living Through Cyclocross

monkimark
monkimark Posts: 1,546
edited April 2015 in Cyclocross
I've been riding bikes recreationally for most of my 35 years on the planet and reasonably seriously since my early teens when I used to somehow drag what would now be considered a BSO at best up and down the pennines with a muddy grin on my face.

Fast forward 20 years and I live in London so the mountain biking has taken a back seat, still riding now and again when I have a free weekend. A few mates got the Olympic bug and bought road bikes so after a year of huffing and puffing with them on a slick tyred mountain bike I joined in and got a road bike, later changed to a cyclocross bike after the road bike got nicked.

Now, I enjoy the social side of group road rides with my mates but a new baby made it difficult to find time for much riding in the last year or two and to be honest I was using that as an excuse sometimes because I couldn't be arsed to get out and ride. Still commuting most of the time but even that was beginning to wane.

Last month I moved out to Ashtead, just inside the southern edge of the M25 and thought I'd get some cyclocross tyres and give offroading another chance. In one ride on Monday I completely reignited my love of cycling, instead of a speedy downhill coast on the road, the reward of the tough climb is a nice bit of forest singletrack, mind totally focussed on not hitting that tree (I hit one tree) and picking the right line through the roots.

I'm now properly excited to get out and ride again, just bought a powerful front light so I can hit the bridleways for a quick blast in the evening after work and I'm itching to explore all the tracks that I saw on my way round Monday's route.

WThe only question is, why did I not try cyclocross before?

Comments

• cheddarpaul
    cheddarpaul Posts: 126