Starter Set of Cycling Clothes?

photonic69
photonic69 Posts: 2,421
edited April 2015 in Road buying advice
Hi.

I'm just getting into road biking after buying a Giant Defy 3 off a fellow forum member. Having mainly done mountain biking and XC I have a fair amount of kit but nothing road-specific. I'm looking at buying a basic but good starter set of clothing for spring/summer cycling. Don't have much of a budget but would like to buy decent stuff that will last for a while and not need renewing in 8 weeks like cheap stuff does.

Top to bottom:

Things I have:
Helmet - I have mountain bike style one. I can remove peak for road use.
Skullie - for cold days
Neck buff
Gloves/mitts various
Various base layers
Full leg padded roubaix cycle bib tights.

Things I think I need:
Long sleeve jersey
Short sleeve jersey
Jackets - Windproof
Jacket - Water/Shower proof
Cycle shorts / tights
Cycle shoes (ideally suited to both mountain and road bikes)
I use toe clips and straps on my mountain bike but have never tried SPDs yet. Something I'm looking at doing though. I also do family cycle days out so need to walk about a bit wearing the shoes. Cant justify getting two sorts of shoes for cycling just yet.

One criteria I have. No one item must be more that £60 (preferably less) and it must make me visible on the road.

My cycling will mostly be out with my son on quiet-ish roads and I hope to join local cycling club for longer rides.

I've had a look at the usual wiggle/evans/crc etc and I'm sure there are very good bargains out there but I don't know the good from the bad(don't bother it's rubbish) stuff.

If any knowledgeable people out there can put together a virtual shopping list or help with some suggestions that would be fantastic.

Thanks

Nic.

Sometimes. Maybe. Possibly.

Comments

• markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614
    If you're prepared to wait a month or so, they Aldi sale comes up at the start of May so you can get some good deals there.
  • diamonddog