New to MTB

mattyharman
mattyharman Posts: 16
edited April 2015 in MTB beginners
Evening folks,

I'm new to the MTB world. I searched for a few bikes on the cycle to work scheme and didn't want to get to giddy for my first purchase so went lowish budget. I decided to go for the Cube AIM SL29 2015 MTB. So far im impressed with how she's performing.

I have a few kids so I'm on the hunt for some rear/front bike seats as well. (Not cool i know :cry: ) i fitted the Bellelli rear bike seat that's £30 at halfrauds at the moment to be shocked it doesn't fit. I have 1cm of clearance from the Tyre to the underside off the seat before strapping the spog in. So much for it been able to fit all rigid framed bikes with a traditional frame design.

Its doesn't fit my wife's new Carrera Vengeance womans 2015 MTB either that i bought last night. It sits right on the bloody wheel! both bikes are hard tails. Anyone in the know like to input on this situation then feel free.

Thanks in advance
Matty

Comments

• dj58
    dj58 Posts: 2,217
    Looking at the video on the Bellelli website I would hazard a guess that it is not designed for a sloping top tube/dropped seatstay design MTB frame, as you wont have enough height adjustment with the seat tube mounted fixing bracket, to clear the wheel/tyre.

Take it back for a refund and go to an LBS who may have more experience with child seats.
  • Thanks for the reply. I wouldn't say either bike is anything special frame wise. There's hundreds of other bikes to choose from that look the same as ours.

Bit of a bold statement from halfrauds to advertise it as fitting any rigid bike. Taking them back today with both bikes and see what they say or advise.
  • I don't see the issue with the seat. Its not as if our frames are a wacky design. Just normal frames.

My cube AIM SL29 2015 17'' frame....
    601002_zoom_zpseonngzbg.jpg

The wifes Carrera Vengeance womans 2015 14" frame....
    686372_zpsee233ng2.jpg