Q-Ring Users Opinions?

crossed
crossed Posts: 237
edited March 2015 in Road general
I'm currently running Rotor Q-rings on both of my MTB's and I find that I'm feeling a benefit, especially on the climbs. I'm debating whether or not to get some for the roadbike but I'm a bit concerned about any shifting problems.

The MTB's run the QX1 single ring set-up so there's no front shifting issues at all but I'd imagine that there could be some shifting issues with a double set-up.

If you're currently using Q-rings, are you having any shifting issues?
Is there anything in particulars that needs to be done to ensure they shift correctly?

Comments

• schlepcycling
    schlepcycling Posts: 1,614
    I've been using Q rings on my road bike for a couple of years, they're on my Rotor 3D Power2max chainset and I use them with both a 10 speed and 11 speed Di2 set up and have had no shifting problems at all. You just need to be careful to set up the front mech correctly.
    'Hello to Jason Isaacs'
  • meesterbond
    meesterbond Posts: 1,240
    I had them running with a SRAM Force front mech and they weren't great - shifting was definitely slow and it was a lot fussier with set up. Slightly out and it would ship the chain. Eventually decided that it wasn't worth the hassle and replaced with Praxis ones which have been great.
  • Scotty-Gee
    Scotty-Gee Posts: 156
    No shifting problems here at all, crisp and fast.

Whether there is any benefit in the actual shape is still up for debate.
  • bernithebiker
    bernithebiker Posts: 4,148
    Been running Q-rings on a Tarmac for nearly 2 years - shifting is excellent, you just need to set the front mech up right.

I now have 2 Tarmacs, and the new one has normal rings.

I switch regularly between the two, and can't tell a difference in pedalling style or power / efficiency.

I like the principle / science behind Q Rings, but in reality I don't think they make much difference (to me anyway).