Weightloss And Trail Riding

Ricksflynn
Ricksflynn Posts: 20
edited March 2015 in Health, fitness & training
Hi all, I'm a virtual newbie to this forum (well, posting anyway).

I started a weight loss regime when we started back at work in the New Year. Having gone to about 22 1/2stone. I'm naturally broad. Regular commutes to work and visits to the gym. I have lost a total of 2st 10lb!! (So far) with an aim to lose another 1 1/2 to 2 stone.

I have just treated myself and purchased a On One Inbred, this will hopefully get me back on the trails and enjoying the stuff I loved as a kid. It was a choice between biking and rugby and I chose the later. Now I've retired at the age of 33 I have the time to enjoy it again. I've moved from the road commute to an off road route to work. I thought I was fit but there's plenty more hard work required until I can join a bike club, I dont want to be a burden for the other members of the team.

Just goes to show that hard work and enjoyment help massively with weight loss!

Thanks Rick

Comments

• WindyG
    WindyG Posts: 1,099
    Well done that's a good effort and I'm sure it's not easy. I wouldn't put off joining a club, a decent one with social rides should have groups split to allow for fast riders and slow riders, it might help with keeping you motivated.
  • Thanks Windy! It was a lifestyle change. Healthy eating (sometimes) but definitely the exercise has made a massive difference and I want this to continue.

Yeah I really want to join a club, but having taken this off road route, its predominantly downhill to work which is great and I can pick my lines on the tracks etc. Its the up hill section on the way back where I'm extremely slow. I know that the more I do it the easier it will become. Maybe I'll try a club in a month or so when I've got the core fitness up a bit more.
  • bigmitch41
    bigmitch41 Posts: 685