Canyon advice

Kangars
Kangars Posts: 34
edited March 2015 in Road buying advice
Hi, i am looking to purchase a new bike, but cant decide between these 2 Canyons. Its either Aluminium with Ultegra or carbon with 105/11 spd. MAybe you can help me out and give me prons and cons, i am still a noob.

https://www.canyon.com/roadbikes/bike.html?b=3694

https://www.canyon.com/roadbikes/bike.html?b=3576

Or maybe there is something else avaialble at this price? This will be my weekend bike and few sportives. I do like climbing so maybe those Canyons arent good for that at all.

Cheers.

Comments

• diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    Take a look at Rose bikes, excellent value and vgood bikes apparently and I have a Canyon. :shock:
    Definitely on my shortlist for the next bike.

Out of those I would go for the carbon frame for no other reason than if I got the alu one I would want the carbon one. :roll:
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    Given how good the new 11 speed 105 5800 is I would probably go for the carbon / 105 option.

But on the other hand the Ultegra is also very nice and the alu frames get a very good write up....

I can see your dilemma!
  • I'd go for the CF, I don't like the alu welds :-) If I was going for an alu bike I'd opt for Rose, simply due to the finish.
  • alex222
    alex222 Posts: 598
    diamonddog wrote:
    Take a look at Rose bikes, excellent value and vgood bikes apparently and I have a Canyon. :shock:
    Definitely on my shortlist for the next bike.
    +1
  • Kangars
    Great now ive got another option :D Rose do look good. Seems i can save almost £100 for alu frame with Ultegra (http://www.rosebikes.co.uk/bike/rose-pr ... aid:744457)

From what i read 105 5800 is a very good groupset. I do have 105 5700 on my commute bike and cant fault it at all and looks like 5800 is even better. Guess its really falls to, what bike will i love more!
  • holiver
    holiver Posts: 729