Zipp hubs - problems

pkelly76
pkelly76 Posts: 8
edited April 2015 in Road buying advice
I purchased a set of Zipp 303 firecrest clincher wheels last year. The back hub never really settled properly and was always quite loose despite being sent back to the shop early on and tightened according to the Zipp instructions. After 2000km they were sent back to the UK dealer for a check and I have been told the bearings need to be replaced but they will not do this under warranty. They are asking for over €120 to do this work which is an insult after such little usage. As you will appreciate, zipp wheels are not cheap and one should expect high quality from them and decent after sales service.

In short, I have been cycling since 1987 and have never come across more flimsy hubs and I am very upset with their unwillingness to play fair and honour the warranty. I am going to escalate this complaint as they are being totally unfair. Has anyone else had problems with Zipp hubs within two years of purchase and if so was the warranty honoured?

Thank you in advance.

Comments

• ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,310
    There is a thread in the workshop area about Zipp hubs problems, if you are happy I will merge this topic to this

viewtopic.php?f=40004&t=12930058
    left the forum March 2023
  • cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865