Tactics advice for a Cat 4 newbie

topcattim
topcattim Posts: 766
edited March 2015 in Amateur race
Hi all, I'm new to racing, and have completed just two Cat 4 circuit races. I felt ok throughout with the pace, and was able to compete in the sprint at the end, which was encouraging. In both races, I finished the sprint in exactly the same position in the field as I started, which makes me think that the secret to finishing higher up might be to be higher placed when the sprint starts. Easier said than done!

Can anyone advise on general racing tips - I've looked around and not found anything that helpful. In particular, if I'm in the pack, lying perhaps 5th-ish and a faster line comes up the outside, if the line that I'm in doesn't respond, then that has the effect of bumping me down a potential 6 or so places, unless I try to swing out into a space that isn't really there because of the continuous line coming through (I hope that makes sense!). I don't want to just wait for the end of the line as it runs the risk of pushing me down the field, but neither do I want to knock anyone, or me, off! How should I respond if this happens? I feel as if I have the strength to both get to the sprint, and compete ok in the sprint, but I just haven't quite worked out how to make sure that I'm in the right place when the sprint starts!

Comments

• BeaconRuth
    BeaconRuth Posts: 2,086