Forum home Road cycling forum Workshop

SRAM Rival brake cable size

MatthewfalleMatthewfalle Posts: 17,380
edited February 2015 in Workshop
Evening All

Just a quick one - does SRAM use a smaller brake cable than Shimano ?

new Shimano inners and outers fitted to new Rival shifters on previously perfect Shimano brakes - brakes are now sticking with all the symptoms you get when cables are clogged and ganky.

Thank you

M
Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote:
This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol:

Recognition at last Matthew, well done!, a justified honour :D
smithy21 wrote:

He's right you know.

Posts

  • luv2rideluv2ride Posts: 2,362
    I think SRAM cable is 1.6mm dia. cable but not sure what dia. Shimano cable is. If you're using new inner cable and outer I would have though you'd have been alright though, just can't mix and match between the two.
    Scott Solace 10 disc - Kinesis Crosslight Pro6 disc - Scott CR1 SL - Pinnacle Arkose X 650b - Pinnacle Arkose 1x11 "monster cross" - Specialized Singlecross...& an Ernie Ball Musicman Stingray 4 string...
  • StillGoingStillGoing Posts: 5,207
    Previous SRAM shifters have used the same diameter Shimano inners. I'm not aware of any change.
    I ride a bike. Doesn't make me green or a tree hugger. I drive a car too.
  • MatthewfalleMatthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    Turns out that SRAM is thinner - Shimano will fit through but won't flow freely leading to sticky lever syndrome.

    Many thanks for replies - much appreciated.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

    De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol:

    Recognition at last Matthew, well done!, a justified honour :D
    smithy21 wrote:

    He's right you know.
  • StillGoingStillGoing Posts: 5,207
    Where did you get this information from as the cabling on my Force 22 is Shimano and works fine?
    I ride a bike. Doesn't make me green or a tree hugger. I drive a car too.
  • MatthewfalleMatthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    philthy3 wrote:
    Where did you get this information from as the cabling on my Force 22 is Shimano and works fine?

    My workshop, my bike, my cables, my hands.

    So first hand.

    Force 22 may we'll be different from 2 year old Rival 10, so please don't be cross with me.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

    De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol:

    Recognition at last Matthew, well done!, a justified honour :D
    smithy21 wrote:

    He's right you know.
  • StillGoingStillGoing Posts: 5,207
    philthy3 wrote:
    Where did you get this information from as the cabling on my Force 22 is Shimano and works fine?

    My workshop, my bike, my cables, my hands.

    So first hand.

    Force 22 may we'll be different from 2 year old Rival 10, so please don't be cross with me.

    Ha ha, not cross, just making sure I hadn't missed something. I use Shimano inners on the 2010 10 speed Force on the other bike too.
    I ride a bike. Doesn't make me green or a tree hugger. I drive a car too.
  • MatthewfalleMatthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    philthy3 wrote:
    philthy3 wrote:
    Where did you get this information from as the cabling on my Force 22 is Shimano and works fine?

    My workshop, my bike, my cables, my hands.

    So first hand.

    Force 22 may we'll be different from 2 year old Rival 10, so please don't be cross with me.

    Ha ha, not cross, just making sure I hadn't missed something. I use Shimano inners on the 2010 10 speed Force on the other bike too.

    No problem :) I think it's just one of those random things that happens- Shimano outers but SRAM inners combo seems to work perfect.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

    De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol:

    Recognition at last Matthew, well done!, a justified honour :D
    smithy21 wrote:

    He's right you know.
Sign In or Register to comment.