Wheels

rafalm
rafalm Posts: 20
edited February 2015 in MTB buying advice
Currently have easton ea70xct wheels on my meta sl but they are nearly on the way out. Looking for stronger wheels with much better pick up and similar weight. Type of riding usual trail/enduro stuff. Budget around £650 they must be 15mm fron and 142x12 rear and hold my 200 pounds weight without issues. Options:

Mavic Crossmax XL
DT Swiss XM1501
Industry nine hubs on stans flow rims

Which ones are the best and why?

Comments

• mattup
    mattup Posts: 11
    I have just fitted a set of XM1501 on my 5010. They are a fantastic choice for you're requirements. They were perfect out of the box and I have not touched them since fitting a couple of months ago. The finish is top quality and they are light for the strength of rim. I am an engineer by trade and the way the spoke attaches to the rim is a proper job. No chance of cracking as there is a washer under the nipple that reduces the stress on the rim. The pick up on the hub is super quick. Mine are set up as tubeless with a Hans Damph up front and a Ralph at the back. I am sure I paid a little more than £650 though.

I can't comment on the others you have mentioned.

Let us know what you buy?
  • njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    DT 240s with upgraded star ratchets on Light Bicycle rims?
  • njee20 wrote:
    DT 240s with upgraded star ratchets on Light Bicycle rims?
    +1
    Bird Aeris : Trek Remedy 9.9 29er : Trek Procaliber 9.8 SL
  • mattup
    mattup Posts: 11
    Nothing like DT 240s??
  • rafalm
    mattup wrote: