It's new chain time.

delete_my_account
delete_my_account Posts: 192
edited February 2015 in Road buying advice
My chain is needing replacing. It's for an Ultegra 6800 groupset. Surprisingly the Shimano chain actually needs replacing due to wear rather than snapping. This is my first time buying an 11 speed chain, in the past I've always got the 9-speed version of this:

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/kmc-x11-93-11-speed-chain/rp-prod132779

Is there anything better for the money?

Cheers.
Delete my fucking account.

Comments

• Don't know if it's better but it's what I bought to replace mine

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-105-5800-chain/
  • Moonbiker
    Moonbiker Posts: 1,706
    Read somewhere that shimano don't do quick links like kmc do, on 10/11 speed as they are a weak link & may cause chain to snap dunno if its true?
  • Plodder73 wrote:
    Don't know if it's better but it's what I bought to replace mine

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-105-5800-chain/

Good price that !
  • I'm still on 10. Never had a link snap, but have broken several chains. Incorrectly installed shimano pin would certainly be a weak spot. I generally use KMC chains, but last time I saw an Ultegra one at a stupidly cheap price, so bought that. Still connected it with a quick link though.
  • northpole
    northpole Posts: 1,499
    I tend to go KMC and carry a quick link in my saddle bag.

Peter
  • maddog 2
    maddog 2 Posts: 8,114
    kmc

a German mag did a proper test and rated the Shimano chains though
    Facts are meaningless, you can use facts to prove anything that's remotely true! - Homer
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    maddog 2 wrote:
    kmc

a German mag did a proper test and rated the Shimano chains though

probably the Dura Ace ones... have had plenty of lesser Shimano chains that just fit for purpose.

Just fitted a DA chain .. always join via a KMC quicklink.. there is no reason not to.