Summer tyres? (using Conti GP 4 Seasons at moment)

rodgers73
rodgers73 Posts: 2,626
edited February 2015 in Road buying advice
I've been using Conti GP 4 Seasons for a few years now. I'm happy to keep using them in the winter as they have been excellent, but I feel like they wear quite quickly in the summer (possibly due to the soft compound they use?).

I was wondering if there was a tyre with similar puncture resistance but which lasted a little better for use in the drier months of the year?

Any ideas? Am I imagining their rate of wear? Should I stick with them or look around?

If I'm right, and it is time to change in summer, then the main requirements for the new tyre are, in order of priority -

1. Must have similar levels of puncture resistance to the GP4S
2. Must still roll OK
3. Prefer a folding tyre to one with a wire bead

Comments

• keezx
    keezx Posts: 1,322
    Conti GP regular.
  • rodgers73
    Are they the same as Gatorskins?
  • cadseen
    cadseen Posts: 170
    edited February 2015
    What about the GP4000s

good deal at Merlin @ http://tidd.ly/67089d10
  • dwanes
    dwanes Posts: 954
    Continental Grand Prix (black chili / polyx breaker) folding tyre.
  • rodgers73
    Ok, looking like the Gatorskins or GP4000S are the ones to go for given the reviews on Wiggle.

Thanks all!
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    I'm in the same position. Been using GP4 Seasons all year round for several years. Now I have 2 bikes I want something a bit sprightlier for the summer / carbon bike. At the moment I'm struggling to swallow the cost of the (decent) Conti tyres

Based on the price and favourable reviews I'd more or less decided on the Michelin Pro 4 SC. If you're concerned about puncture protection and wear rate the Pro 4 Endurance is the same price. I like the sound of the extra volume for comfort; the 25's apparently measure 27-28 when inflated.
  • Spudboy
    Spudboy Posts: 101
    rodgers73 wrote: