Front Derailleur

gingerbeardedrunner
edited February 2015 in Workshop
Help! I think I've messed up my front derailleur...

I'm relatively new to cycling and very new to bike maintenance.

I wanted to make my front derailleur quieter, so did the "normal" thing and watched a couple of YouTube videos...

Now my front derailleur won't move enough to change the gear and I'm not sure if I've done something to the gear mechanism on the handle as it no longer clicks? Should it click when even when it's not changing gear... I feel I've done more harm than good...

Comments

• desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    A) What did you do to it?
    B) What were you trying to make quieter? I have never heard of a noisy derailleur before!
    - - - - - - - - - -
    On Strava.{/url}
  • Loosened the tension the cable and adjusted the front de railleur so the chain was no longer scraping and making noise on the lowest gear and highest gear
  • wongataa
    wongataa Posts: 1,001
    Does your gear system have a trim function? If it does then that sorts out the chain rub.

As you have reduced the cable tension then it is likely you don't have enough to shift now. Find the set up instructions for your kit (should be available on the manufacturer's website) and start from scratch. It isn't hard and shouldn't take too long and it will help you understand how they work.
  • OK thanks, will find the instructions.
  • I think as the shifter is not clicking or changing, even when the cable is removed from the derailleur, I may have broken my left shifter :(((

Does anyone know if this can be fixed? Expensive? Will it have to be replaced?
  • desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    It's possible.

Firstly check under the hood of the shifter to make sure the cable hasn't snapped within the shifter and the pip is correctly seated.

Then grasp the other end and apply a load while you operate the shifter.