Planet X carbon ti skewers- They reliable/safe?

forestnot1
forestnot1 Posts: 244
edited February 2015 in Road buying advice
As title suggests..

Comments

• diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    I have been using mine on one of my bikes for over 2 years now without problems.
  • Ok, was just wondering as they are so light!
  • diamonddog
    It is the external cam type they use that some riders don't like some prefer the internal cam type skewers.
  • I've had three sets for years including cross bike and they're great. A sound reliable purchase.
  • mercia_man
    mercia_man Posts: 1,431
    If you use external cam skewers like Planet X on frames with vertical dropouts, rim brakes and lawyer lips on the forks, you should be OK, apart from possibly a bit of creaking. But they could be potentially insecure on frames with horizontal dropouts, plain forks or disc brakes.

The reason is they produce nowhere near as much clamping force as internal cam all metal skewers made by Shimano and Campag. Fitting them to replace standard Shimano skewers would be a downgrade in performance although you would save a few grams. If you want to be sure your wheels will stay put without moving or creaking, choose internal cam.

There's plenty on the internet explaining why external cam skewers are inferior and less secure, includng Sheldon Brown and, quite recently, a feature on Bike Radar by Angry Asian James Huang.
  • trailflow
    trailflow Posts: 1,311
    edited February 2015
    I've had a pair. The plastic cam piece (which ideally should be metal) wore away and disintegrated after a season. They never felt all that secure either. They never came undone but i would not buy them again.
  • I've not used mine yet but I notice they're £20 now whereas they were £15 a couple of weeks ago (£12 with the infamous staff discount). If you're not in a hurry and can convince yourself you're not going to die then it might be worth hanging on a couple of weeks.
  • veronese68