Cyclocross vrs Adventure Vrs Road

Bigphillyb
Bigphillyb Posts: 21
edited February 2015 in Cyclocross
Hi Guys,

other than tyres whats the real difference?

sorry if this is a bit of a basic question but i am new to this.

cheers
p

Comments

• tgotb
    tgotb Posts: 4,714
    CX bike - bigger clearances than road bike for knobbly tyres and mud; disc or canti brakes for the same reason. Very slightly different geometry (eg slightly relaxed head angle). Easy to carry (top tube may have flattened base). Cable routing generally via top tube (internal or on top). Pure race-oriented CX bike may have no braze-ons for mudguards or bottle cages (though almost all seem to have bottle cage braze-ons). Race bike likely to have different gearing (eg 46/36 or single chainring).

As far as I can tell, Adventure bike is just CX bike with added bottle cage and marketing bullsh*t...
    Pannier, 120rpm.
  • ai_1
    ai_1 Posts: 3,060
    What he said.
    A cyclocross bike fitted with slicks can do a very passable job as a road bike. Aside from the brakes and bigger wheel clearances there's not much difference after you fit road tyres. Never heard of an Adventure bike. I suspect TGOTB is correct!
  • tangled_metal
    tangled_metal Posts: 4,021
    edited February 2015
    Adventure road bike is a term Evans use for crossers and tourers. If you look at the touring and adventure road bike sections on their site there's some cross over. Same with the lower end of their CXers section.

Solid road bikes is how I see them. From audax/ sportive bikes to CXers.
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Don't forget to add Gravel Grinder to your list ;-)
    For years we called and rode CX bikes, and then some marketing wonks created some new sub-genre in a brainstorm and all of a sudden we were immersed in a sea of bull-$hit!
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • http://www.bikeradar.com/mtb/gear/artic ... ike-37582/

Some interesting views there.