Torque Wrench or Tool Kit?

mercuryspooning
mercuryspooning Posts: 3
edited February 2015 in Workshop
Hey,

I'm looking to buy a tool kit for my bikes but I can't decide whether to buy a decent kit (specifically looking at the Park Tool AK 38 http://www.mountainbikesdirect.com.au/p ... c-tool-kit ) or whether to buy a decent torque wrench.

I feel like most of the maintenance I do is with Allen keys... Maybe I'm not understanding it correctly but I thought that a torque wrench provides me with a range of different attachments (mostly allen keys) and allows me to fine tune it to the manufacturers specifications.

Currently I own a carbon roadie;
A pretty shit fixie that I use for commuting short distances;
and an old Apollo I that I'm looking to fix up.

In addition to those three bikes I would like to be able to service my girlfriends bike and my roommates bike (modern roadie and old cruiser, respectively).

As you can probably tell, I'm pretty new to bike maintenance but even with the little I've done, I'm quite enjoying it and would like to get stuck into some harder harder problems.

I can't afford a tool kit and torque wrench right now. Can someone please give me some advice as to what I should get?

Cheers!

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    a torque wrench is only that. if you don't have anything to fit to it you will not be able to use it.

a tool kit would be better.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Okay, so does the torque wrench have its own bits or can it attach to the bits and pieces from my tool kit? (assuming I get park tools kit and torque wrench)
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    it all depends. they tens to be 1/2" or 3/8" or 1/4" square drive.

many things can be fitted with suitable adaptors/reducers/holders.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."