New bike upto £3500

andyh01
andyh01 Posts: 599
edited January 2015 in Road buying advice
Previously had a Trek 2.1 been involved in an accident basically got T boned no serious injuries going to be looking at around £3-£4K payout which will put to a new bike to help deal with the "mental" issue getting back on bike. I work for a company that has consumer credit licence so can also use ctw scheme too.

As I ride all weathers I want hydraulic disc brakes and either Ultegra or Di2 group set not sure which, on a carbon frame. Main riding is commuting 5 mile each way Monday - Friday, distance may change if change jobs, I also want get into sportif but have young family so hard to spend time on bike. I have been riding for over 5 years and a good general level of fitness; I'm 33 weigh 12 stone (stocky muscle ex rugby player, plenty core strength and leg muscle, arms not as powerful) and want loose some weight too.

Obvious contenders are Specialized Roubaix SL4 (ultegra disc) and Cannodale Supersix Evo/Synapse (either di2 or ultegra disc) which got one of the bike of year awards.
I have a local Specialized dealer close by which is handy (they also said that Cannodale had issue with their back end braking?) I also have a Giant dealer closeish by too but not too keen on Giant for some reason? I like plain discrete colour schemes like mat black that will hide scratches and chips and not plastered in stickers or being too loud. Think SuperSix Evo Nano Black
Any other contenders I should be looking at?

Di2 or Ultegra? I am lazy with tuning gears with my old bike that had 105 not all gears worked so it does appeal to me in that sense but also like the "feel" of tension on the cable so can understand why people say di2 "feels" dull. Also anyone know if I went di2 with a Son dynamo hub, could I use the charge of dynamo to charge the Di2 battery?

Thanks
Andy

Comments

• mfin
    mfin Posts: 6,729
    AndyH01 wrote: