Wheel advice needed!

andrew1988
andrew1988 Posts: 6
edited January 2015 in Road buying advice
Hi,

Very much a newbie here so go easy on me, but these forums have already been very handy!

As some background, I purchased a second hand Apollo Elite C running SRAM Red and Easton EA70's a little while ago.. all running well until I broke a couple of spokes over a few months. After taking in for repair, the bike tech told me the spokes were corroded and the wheels were effectively worthless as the remainder of the spokes would snap shortly as well. A mate suggested I re-lace the wheels with straight pull DT spokes (~$100 wheel), but the bike tech dismissed this idea as he said it would have to be done with the Easton proprietary spokes and would cost upwards of $400 and I was better off just buying new wheels. Does this sound legit, or is it simply that he's just keen to push buying new wheels?

Secondly - provided that the wheels are indeed a write off, the next question is what to replace them with. Whilst i've been told it's best to spend a bit on wheels upfront as you can take them across when you upgrade your bike, I'm still a bit too new to justify forking out too much. Thus, if I have to replace the wheels my thoughts is to go with a decent pair of training wheels and then build up a pair of custom wheels as I get more serious. Having done a bit of research and poured over this website, I'm considering Campagnolo Scirocco 35's - Wiggle has them for AU$279 or the CX version for $320.