Campagnolo Shamal Mille v Mavic R-SYS SLR's

Dick Scruttock
Dick Scruttock Posts: 2,533
edited January 2015 in Road buying advice
Given the choice of either a pair of Campagnolo Shamal Mille's with the new brake track or some Mavic R-sys slr's what would people choose and why?

I have owned some Fulcrum racing zeros in the past and they were trouble free, I have little experience of mavics.

The wheels will be going on a Colnago c60 with SR.

Comments

• I rate Zeros highly (on my second pair) but they're out stiff'd by my RSYS SLR's. That and the fact that Exalith 2 is from my experience now totally on the money, where as this new Campagnolo coating is a first attempt, I'd go for the Mavics. I've got them on my MTBK C59 :-)
  • mfin
    mfin Posts: 6,729
    Rick... seeing as you're having Super Record, I would say don't get the Mavics looks-wise if that matters to you. Style wise on a C60 with SR the mavics will stand out like a poorly chosen style of alloys on a car.
  • mfin wrote:
    Rick... seeing as you're having Super Record, I would say don't get the Mavics looks-wise if that matters to you. Style wise on a C60 with SR the mavics will stand out like a poorly chosen style of alloys on a car.

Total nonsense. I run mine with SR and Record EPS and they look the business. I also run Zipp 303's on a bike with Record.

viewtopic.php?f=40044&t=12962249
  • I'd echo what TGR says, the Mavics as clinchers are unbelievable stiff, if I were buying again i'd only have tubulars.
    Mine were the early version with the original Exalith brake track and remained perfect and unbelievable braking performance for 5000+ miles.
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles