Garmin HRM users take note

53/39alltheway
53/39alltheway Posts: 44
edited January 2015 in Road general
I raced for 25yrs and used the early Polar HRM's for training, they used a solid plastic strap with a sealed battery, never glitched and always worked, when I stopped racing I used a Garmin GPS watch for running which used the premium soft strap, I had a love hate relationship with these, they either worked fine or were very problematic, heart rate spikes etc etc.

I tried all the usual work arounds, using the Polar soft strap, wearing it on my back etc, sometimes worked, sometimes not.When I started riding again and started using an Edge 510 I finally gave up and "downgraded" to the Garmin standard plastic strap, very much like the old Polar strap, been using it for a month without any glitches or spikes, seems to be the answer to not so impressive premium soft strap. Other peoples experience may differ but there are plenty of similar stories regarding the soft strap, so if you have similar issues give the older strap a try.
Trek SLR 1500 Ultegra 9 spd
Team Raleigh Dura Ace 7900
Scott Foil Team Issue Dura Ace 9000

Comments

• StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211
    My original all plastic strap is around 6 years old and has never missed a beat or needed a battery change.
    I ride a bike. Doesn't make me green or a tree hugger. I drive a car too.
  • Thanks for posting your experience, nearly identical history and recent experiences as myself.

I've been having the same problem with the so-called premium strap. It has been ok for the last 18 months or so but recently has been giving very erratic heart rates. After a bit of research on the net I pulled the trigger yesterday on the cheaper rate strap, hopefully that should see things returning to normal once it arrives.

Regards
    Cervelo R3
    Tarmac Elite