Why so serious?

oodboo
oodboo Posts: 2,171
edited January 2015 in Road general
Rode to work this morning for the first time for a few years. Nice 12 mile ride mostly following the river. Anyway, of all the other people I saw on bikes only one person acknowledged me, two looked happy but the rest all looked miserable. Why ride a bike if you're not going to enjoy it? They might as well drive or get the bus.

My background is in mountain biking where people seem to be generally a lot happier and willing to greet each other in passing. So I was just wondering if it's against one of "the rules" to enjoy riding and acknowledge other riders?
I love horses, best of all the animals. I love horses, they're my friends.

Strava

Comments

• mpatts
    mpatts Posts: 1,010
    oodboo wrote:
    Rode to work this morning for the first time for a few years. Nice 12 mile ride mostly following the river. Anyway, of all the other people I saw on bikes only one person acknowledged me, two looked happy but the rest all looked miserable. Why ride a bike if you're not going to enjoy it? They might as well drive or get the bus.

My background is in mountain biking where people seem to be generally a lot happier and willing to greet each other in passing. So I was just wondering if it's against one of "the rules" to enjoy riding and acknowledge other riders?

well trodden path this.

My advice, push them off.
    Insert bike here:
  • oodboo
    What? Push them off if they don't return my greeting? Seems a bit harsh.

Strava
  • t4tomo
    t4tomo Posts: 2,643
    you sometimes have to be cruel to be kind kiddo.

if everyone who was miserable got pushed of their bike the the world would soon be filled with happier cyclists.

push the really miserable ones into the river, :D
    Bianchi Infinito CV
    Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Ultegra
    Brompton S Type
    Carrera Vengeance Ultimate Ltd
    Gary Fisher Aquila '98
    Front half of a Viking Saratoga Tandem
  • chris_bass