Buying a Bike

like2bike
like2bike Posts: 21
edited March 2015 in Road buying advice
Hi,

I'm planning to buy a bike, not used one for years and never had a good one before. Have read a few threads for advice as I have little technical knowledge, but I'm still a bit stuck. I want a bike to get to work and back, to go into town centre at weekends, to do a bit of riding on cycle tracks, in parks, along rivers etc. I guess most people would advise a road bike, but i've never used the racer type bars before and i think i would find it uncomfortable and less in control compared to flat bars. Also the really thin wheels look a little too fragile, ie up and down kerbs, across parks, etc. so im thinking of a hybrid with those semi thin wheels, which sort of leans towards a road bike.

Struggling as to go for the entry level boardmans without suspension, but these have the thin wheels. Or should I go for something like the Sport Boardman, which has slightly bigger wheels, but smaller than the big carerra subway ones. However, it has suspension, now every thread seems to say dont bother with this for commuting, but actually I did once have use a bike for a while that had suspension, just for getting from a to b, and yet i found it really comfy!, particularly when roads and paths are a bit bumpy or coming down a kerb. So is suspension really that bad an idea for getting around, cycle tracks, parks etc? Plus I thought you can switch it off if need be. Lastly i have no idea about whether or not I should even consider the hydraulic brakes or not...

Any help appreciated! Thanks.

Comments

• passout
    passout Posts: 4,425
    I'd go for a hybrid bike - I wouldn't worry about brake type so much. I guess you mean tyre width which is no biggie, just change to wider tyres if you want. Although I doubt it will make much difference. I'd go for the basic Boardman. Main thing is that it fits you and staff can advise on this. Pinnacle bikes at Evans would be another option.