Best Commuter bikes?

fpharry
fpharry Posts: 3
edited January 2015 in Commuting general
Hi Everyone,

I'm looking to get myself a commuter bike (ie road/hybrid) through the C2W scheme and would really appreciate some advice. I've done a lot of research but as a relative bike novice, I've become a bit lost. Can't see the spokes for the wheels, you could say.

I will do a 20-mile round journey approx 3 times a week for most of the year (including winter, ice permitting). The route is generally on-road, but with a couple of dirt tracks that do a good job of covering the underside of the bike in mud during wet weather. Pannier rack and mudguards are essential.

I could go for something up to the £1000 mark, but I'm primarily looking for something that's good value. So if I can spend a lot less and still get something that will do the job for many years, is good to ride, is durable, and requires little maintenance, then I'd be delighted.

If it's useful to know, I've been riding a Raleigh steel frame bike for the past few years, which has served me well. (Bought for about £150 five years ago with little upkeep since required).

A few bikes I've seen that appear to be options (all towards the upper end of the price bracket) include:

GT Grade Alloy 105

Whyte Dorset

Boardman Hybrid Team

Trek Soho 4.0

Comments

• You have a mix of flat and drop bars in there, this is something you will have to decide on which you prefer.

You've already picked up on needing mudguards & I notice the bikes have disc brakes which is a safe bet for all weather braking.

Personally if you are wanting to keep within your C2W scheme budget of £1000, buy a bike for less than £900 and then you can top up with clothing/basic tools/puncture repair kit/lock/ mudguards etc etc.

As for which bike to buy, try out as many as you can and pick the one that feels best for you, I made a shortlist earlier this year and bought on what seemed best on paper, I was wrong, feel/fit & customer service is key.