A Couple Of Problems

JoeNTMY
JoeNTMY Posts: 8
edited January 2015 in MTB workshop & tech
I'm a bit of an amateur when it comes to maintenance and I've just tried to give my bike a bit of a service. In doing so, I've come across two problems that I'm unable to remedy. They are:

When I turn my handlebars there is a creaking/cracking noise.

When I went to change my brake pads I noticed that 3 of the 4 pistons are stuck in the caliper? (correct me if I'm wrong) when I press the breaks, meaning the front brake doesn't work at all and the back brake only half works. :( Is there anything I can do to get the pistons to pop out or even better, work?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

Comments

• rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    Your calipers need a service. Google for service kit and instructions for your model of brakes.
    Your headset bearings are probably dead, take the bearings out and take them to a bearing shop to get replacements.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Creaking when turning the bars could be anything from cable rub to a headset in need or replacement of just preloaded to much, does it feel tight to turn?

It's brakes, not breaks, that's what happens when you have no brakes!

How do you know they are seized? Not moving doesn't make them seized, it's rare for them to seize so they don't come out under pressure, they usually fail to retract first. What make and model of brake?
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Thanks for the responses.

Hopefully I can service them myself. I wish I'd of started all this maintenance stuff 15 years ago!

It doesn't feel tight to turn. Would balancing on the bike (with the handlebars almost at a right angle) damage the bearings?