Road bike for wifey advice pls.....

zak3737
zak3737 Posts: 370
edited December 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi Chaps,
Well, it was inevitable I guess, .......since I started riding this summer, with a group that some of the wives go out Sun mornings too, that my wife has now declared that she wants a bike too, so the search begins.
She knows she isnt gonna be with us immediately, as in all honesty, she hasnt ridden a bike in years, (or done anything 'sporty' at all tbh), but Rome wasnt built in a day, and as she could do with getting in shape, (her words not mine), I need to go along with it and encourage etc.

So - the search for a bike starts.
I know a Hybrid would be a good start, comfier etc, but then, IF she does get into it, it aint gonna keep up with us perhaps longterm.
So what does everyone think ? Or anyone know of really good deals ?

The Boardman Fi is £499, and gets great reviews, and would suit, - but the lead-in Giant Avail, also £499, has the additional Brake levers on the tops too, which I know would perhaps make her feel safer than normal levers only.
Plus - I guess using a store, gets the sizing right from the go, but £499 is still more than ideal tbh.

Or - do I try and bag a good 2nd hand deal on Gumtree/Ebay etc ?

Thoughts ?

Thx

Comments

• kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    I would go to a good bike shop with a good range and see what she prefers. Not much point having a great spec bike at a great price that she doesn't ride !

The important thing is to get a bike that she likes the look of , how it rides and that it fits her well. Also most road bikes under £1,000 come with really poor brakes so I would factor in getting some 105's or long drop r650's so she is confident of stopping when riding. The other thing is getting the normal cycling clothing to keep her warm and dry this time of year. Luckily womens cycling clothing can normally be found half price and under in the sales most of the year.

Good luck :)
  • Matthewfalle