Forks advice...

chrislledrod
chrislledrod Posts: 6
edited January 2015 in MTB buying advice
Evening all.

So I'm new to mtb'ing, got a second hand bike bout 10months ago, and loving it. I've got a pretty shoddy bike but it's got me going til now, and can't quite splash out on a cracking AM/Enduro just yet, so i'm looking to improve what i have.

http://www.bikepedia.com/quickbike/Bike ... R++XC+Comp

It's a 2008 Specialized XC FSR Comp. I'm just about to get some SLX m675 brakes fitted, as the Hayes Soles are a joke. But i'm looking to improve the RS Tora forks (which won't be hard tbh); what dya reckon i should get?
I'm looking for:
-Second hand (cheap)
-120/130/140mm ?
-cheap to maintain
-good for steep quick singletrack runs

Can't be spending hundreds as i will be upgrading whole bike soon (but not too soon), and as it's old frame (08) no new fork (tapered) will fit (i believe), so no future proofing.

Check the link out, laugh at my bike, and then tell me what you would get after throwing the toras in the bin.

Ta!

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Nothing more than 100mm and straight 1 1/8" steerer. Narrows the choice down a bit. 120mm might work. I wouldn't Anything more and you'll die, and probably break the bike. Or at least mess up the geometry.

Budget?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    The Tora isn't a bad fork, but for that I'd look for some good used Reba's (buying new for an 08 bike when you may be replacing it is silly), with CD, you can probably push it to 120mm but no more.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Which model Tora do you have? What is your budget?
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774