Cant find a chain set to fit my bottom bracket

nharv3y
nharv3y Posts: 6
edited January 2015 in Road beginners
hi, I'm new to bike building and currently building a single gear road bike to get me from A to B. I can't seem to find a chain set to fit my bottom bracket, and was wondering if anyone could help me out?. Ive included pictures

thanks

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    It looks like a standard square taper (probably JIS), but with a threaded boss on the end. Assuming it is JIS, then any compatible square taper chainset should fit.

Assuming the shell is a standard 68mm BSA, then you have a pretty wide choice of chainsets, provided you use a compatible BB. More info on the frame would be useful..
  • just checked and it has a 3S or a 39 on it. (unsure if it says S or 9) does that help?
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    nharv3y wrote:
    just checked and it has a 3S or a 39 on it. (unsure if it says S or 9) does that help?

Not really no. Not even sure what you're referring to.
  • Is that really the only marking on it? I don't know how much experience with square tapers you have, but they're usually fairly compatible, at least in my experience - even Campag/Shimano. (Though you're better off matching)
  • me-109
    me-109 Posts: 1,915
    If you remove it the axle measurements will be stamped in the middle. Of course it is most likely for a double bi could be longer. You would be far better off buying your single-ring c/set and getting the BB with it or buying one to suit.
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Nutted BB spindles are typical of cheaper/no-name components so expect it's simply a case of trying some cranks to see if you get a reasonable chainline. Probably means you'll need some sort of 'fix' for the backwheel to space-out the sprocket. Easiest would be to find a suitable crank and matching BB - a cheap square taper BB is only a tenner.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..