New wheels or repair rear wheel again?

gribas
gribas Posts: 3
edited December 2014 in The workshop
Hi folks,

I am a newbie forum user, I'm from Barcelona but currently I'm living in Dublin, Ireland.

I have a Giant Defy 2 2013 and I'm commuting everyday about 15km 10 miles. Since two months ago I had problems with my rear wheel broking spokes. Last friday I broke another one, the fourth one. I went to the cycle shop and I replaced the broken spokes each time that I broke one, my mechanic align the wheel eachtime so the wheel seems to work correcty. The wheelset is the giant sr2.

Everytime that I change a spoke is about 15 euro, 12 GBP so I am thinking if it's worth repairing this wheel or maybe it's better to buy a new wheelset. Or maybe is not well threaded and I need to try it in another bicycle shop?

I'm commuting with 25c tyres and I am 90kg (195 lbs) so I don't want a special performance wheels just for commuting and have fun with my bike.

I am thinking to buy something like 6800 ultegra wheelset that I read some reviews and they are bombproof.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/e ... prod109835

Thanks for your help.

Happy xmas!

Comments

• Hi gribas,

I guess it would depend how much life the rim has left in it and if it's worth the cost of a rebuild, if the rebuild will be relatively cheap and the rim has a good amount of miles left then this might be the better option.

As an example the following wheelset is very good value for the money which might also be worth considering;
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/shim ... prod121540

I ran this wheelset when I was over 200 lbs and I didn't have any issues with them.

If you do want to change the wheels and you have a budget close to the cost of the set you've linked to, then you could probably have a good set of handbuilts (Ultegra Hubs, Archetype Rims 32/32 Spoke) for close to £300.
    The path of my life is strewn with cowpats from the devil's own satanic herd.
  • patrickf