Hydration advice

Gasperoni
Gasperoni Posts: 41
edited December 2014 in Road beginners
I've been riding for about 6 months now, getting on for 1k miles. 46, overweight (15st10, 5'11) and just riding for fitness, trying to increase my endurance rather than speed. Learning a lot as I go along, but generally just trying to go with what feels right. I tried taking on water at regular intervals, but wasn't sure whether it was too much or too little, so asked a friend who cycles a bit who responded with the eminently sensible 'drink when you feel thirsty'. My problem is that I did a 75 mile ride and got through a whole 400ml of water. In fact, I suspect even some of the times when I drank was because I felt I should, not because I felt thirsty. It didn't feel like a problem, but my question is
a) is it? and
b) if it is, what are the consequences?

Comments

• Philby
    Philby Posts: 328
    Are you sure you got your amounts right?

Most bottles have a capacity somewhere in the region of 500ml to 800ml. If you only drank 400ml over 75 miles that isn't even one bottle - far too little for such a long ride IMO. Your fluid intake will vary with the weather (I drink a lot less when its cold), speed / effort you put in, and the topography of your route.

As its obligatory to stop for tea or coffee and cake on a ride you would obviously have taken extra liquid in :roll:
  • Pituophis
    Pituophis Posts: 1,025
    On a ride of that length I would expect to drink at least 2 full 750 ml bottles, and in warm weather probably stop to fill one up again. But everyone is different so you will get lots of contradicting answers.
    400 ml doesn't sound anywhere near enough though! :shock:
  • fudgey
    fudgey Posts: 854
    I drink a lot, upto 750ml per 15 miles in warmer weather, whereas my mate who i ride with hardly drinks at all.

last weekend we done 52 miles, i drank my 2x 750ml bottles and half of one of his...

he on the other hand had drank id guess 2/3 of a bottle.